Tuesday, February 12, 2013

And Then There Were Two

Sebastián Saavedra will be promoted back to the Izod IndyCar Series after a season in Indy Lights. The Colombian driver won one race last year in Lights, finished fourth in the standings and competed in the Indianapolis 500, Sonoma and Fontana for Andretti Autosport will return full-time with Dragon Racing and team with Sébastien Bourdais.

With Saavedra signed, that makes 13 Chevrolet teams announced (4 Andretti, 2 Penske, 2 KV, 2 Panther/D&RR, 2 Dragon and 1 Carpenter), 10 Honda teams (3 Ganassi, 2 Schmidt, 2 RLLR, 1 Fisher-Hartman, 1 Herta and 1 Foyt) and leaves the 2 Hondas of Dale Coyne Racing as the only unannounced seats. Tentatively, IndyCar is looking as a 25 car grid, on par with what was seen most of 2012.

The car will be sponsored by TRUECAR, which was brought to the team by Katherine Legge last year. Legge was thought to be returning in 2013 and now appears she will not be on the grid come St. Petersburg March 24.

As for the two Coyne Hondas, Justin Wilson is believed to be returning to the team and the future of the second seat is unknown. Ryan Briscoe is still on the outside, while James Jakes, who ran the second Coyne car in 2011 and 2012, is now at Rahal-Letterman-Lanigan Racing.