Saturday, April 6, 2013

Car 1, P1. Hunter-Reay wins Pole at Barber

For the first time since Assen 2007, car number 1 will start from pole position as Ryan Hunter-Reay won the pole for tomorrow's Honda Indy Grand Prix of Alabama. The American beat out Will Power with a time of 1:07.0871. Tristan Vautier starts third after replacing Takuma Sato in the Fast Six because Sato was given a blocking penalty during round two. Sato will start twelfth.

Scott Dixon set the fastest time of qualifying, a 1:06.7750 during round one, but he could only manage fourth. Charlie Kimball has had a great weekend and that carried over to qualifying where he starts fifth, ahead of Helio Castroneves in sixth.

Marco Andretti will start seventh for the second consecutive race with Justin Wilson next to him on the grid. Sebastián Saavedra made another appearance in the Fast Twelve and will roll off from ninth for the second consecutive race. AJ Allmendinger will start tenth in his first race back in IndyCar. James Jakes and Takuma Sato make up row six.

Big names failing to make the Fast Twelve is becoming nothing out of the ordinary in IndyCar. Dario Franchitti, Simona de Silvestro, Simon Pagenaud, James Jakes, Tony Kanaan and Graham Rahal will all start in the back half of the grid after failing to advance from round one.

IndyCar morning warm-up will take place at noon ET tomorrow with the NBCSN broadcast beginning at 3:00 PM ET and green flag around 3:40 PM ET.