Friday, June 14, 2013

Andretti Sweeps Practice

For the second consecutive session Marco Andretti and Ryan Hunter-Reay took the top two times on the speed charts in practice for tomorrow's Milwaukee IndyFest. Andretti set the fastest time at 21.6811 seconds, 0.0501 seconds ahead of Hunter-Reay. Takuma Sato jumped up to third in the second session ahead of EJ Viso and Scott Dixon.

Helio Castroneves was sixth leading the Hondas of Justin Wilson, James Jakes and Alex Tagliani. Sébastien Bourdais rounded out the top ten. Dario Franchitti was eleventh fastest with James Hinchcliffe in twelfth. A half second covered the top twelve in this session. Sebastián Saavedra was only three positions and a little less than eight hundredths back of his Dragon Racing teammate in thirteenth. Josef Newgarden dropped to fourteenth in the second practice with Simon Pagenaud rounding out the top fifteen.

Ryan Briscoe was sixteenth ahead of former Penske teammate Will Power. Tony Kanaan fell ten positions to eighteenth in the second practice ahead of Ana Beatriz and Graham Rahal. Tristan Vautier and Simona de Silvestro were two driver that fell out of the top ten from the first practice. They were twenty-first and twenty-second respectively. Charlie Kimball and Ed Carpenter rounded out the field. Carpenter was 1.3142 seconds back of Andretti in this session.

Qualifying takes place at 5:15 p.m. ET with NBCSN airing the session at 7:00 p.m. ET. IndyCar's most recent winner and the points leader Helio Castroneves will roll out first. Some key drivers to look out for are Takuma Sato going out fourth, Dario Franchitti going out seventh, Ryan Hunter-Reay going out ninth, EJ Viso going out tenth, Marco Andretti going out seventeenth, Will Power going out nineteenth and Scott Dixon going out twenty-first. Ana Beatriz will be the final driver to take time.