Sunday, August 9, 2015

Marc Márquez Wins 2015 Indianapolis Grand Prix

For the ninth straight time, Marc Márquez has won in the United States. The Spaniard passed Jorge Lorenzo with three laps to go to pick up his third victory of 2015 and fifth consecutive victory at Indianapolis Motor Speedway. Márquez has won every MotoGP race he has started in the United States. Márquez's victory is Honda's sixth consecutive Indianapolis Grand Prix victory. Márquez has five podium finishes this season.

Lorenzo came home in second, 0.688 seconds behind Márquez. It is Lorenzo's first runner-up finish of 2015 as he has four victories and a third. Lorenzo has four consecutive podiums at Indianapolis and seven in eight starts. His worst Indianapolis finish is fourth. Valentino Rossi had a hard fought battle with Dani Pedrosa for third and nipped the Spaniard by just under two-tenths of a second for the final podium spot. Rossi's podium streak is extending to 14 consecutive races dating back to last year's Japanese Grand Prix. It is the first time Rossi has had consecutive podiums at Indianapolis.

Andrea Iannone finished fifth with the Tech3 Yamahas of Bradley Smith and Pol Espargaró in sixth and seventh respectively. Smith has finished every race this season between fifth and eighth as he has finished sixth on five occasions. Seventh is Pol Espargaró worst career finish at Indianapolis. Cal Crutchlow finished eighth for the second consecutive year at Indianapolis with Andrea Dovizioso in ninth despite falling from tenth to 20th on the opening lap of the race. Danilo Petrucci rounded out the top ten. This is Petrucci first time scoring points at Indianapolis.

Suzuki's Maverick Viñales finished 11th. Yonny Hernández was 12th with Scott Redding and Aleix Espargaró in 13th and 14th respectively. Héctor Barberá rounded out the points as Nicky Hayden missed out on a championship point by just under a second. Hayden has finished 16th in three consecutive races. It is the first time Barberá has finished in the points at Indianapolis since his first MotoGP start at the track in 2010.

Valentino Rossi keeps his championship lead as the Italian has 195 points. Jorge Lorenzo is nine points behind his Yamaha teammate. Marc Márquez jumps up to third in the championship and trails Rossi by 56 points. Andrea Iannone is 66 points back of his fellow countryman. Bradley Smith rounds out the top five, 98 points back.

In Moto2, Álex Rins won from pole position as the Spaniard picked up his first career Moto2 victory. Runs held off Moto2 championship leader Johann Zarco by 0.482 seconds for the victory. This is Rins' second career victory at Indianapolis Motor Speedway as he won the 2013 Moto3 race from the Speedway. Italian Franco Morbidelli rounded out the podium, 0.888 seconds back of Rins. It is Morbidelli's first career podium in 31 career Moto2 starts.

Swiss rider Dominique Aegerter finished fourth from 11th on the grid. Defending Moto2 champion Tito Rabat rounded out the top five with another Swiss rider, Thomas Lüthi following him in sixth. Axel Pons scores a career best finish by coming home in seventh. His previous best was eighth at Barcelona last year. Belgian Xaiver Siméon finished eighth with Takaaki Nakagami in ninth. Álex Márquez, younger brother of Marc Márquez rounded out the top ten.

Malaysian rider Azlan Shah finished 11th. It's Shah's second finish in the points this year. He finished 15th at Mugello. Two-time winner this year Jonas Folger was 12th. Anthony West was 13th with Marcel Schrötter and Robin Mulhauser rounding out the points. It is Mulhauser's first career finish in the points. His previous best was 17th at Valencia last year.

Johann Zarco retains his Moto2 championship lead as he exits Indianapolis with 199 points. Álex Rins moves up to second in the championship with his victory as he trails the Frenchman by 71 points. Tito Rabat is three points behind Rins in third. Thomas Lüthi jumps up to fourth in the championship, as he is 90 points behind Zarco. Sam Lowes retired in today's race and dropped to fifth in the championship, 92 points back of Zarco.

There was a first-time winner in Moto3 as Belgian rider Livio Loi took victory by over 38 seconds over British rider John McPhee in race that started in damp conditions. German Phillip Öttl rounded out the podium. Loi's previous best career finish in 33 Moto3 starts was fourth in Argentina last year. His best finish this season entering Indianapolis was 12th in Argentina. McPhee and Öttl both scored their first career podiums as well. McPhee's best career finish was fourth in Japan last year and Öttl's was sixth at Aragón in 2013. Loi won from 26th on the grid, while McPhee start 18th and Öttl went from 34th, last on the grid to third.

Romano Fenati finished fourth while Isaac Viñales was the top Spaniard in fifth. Spaniards had won all seven previous Moto3/125cc races at Indianapolis entering this race. Enea Bastianini finished sixth with fellow Italian Niccolò Antonelli following him in seventh. South African Brad Binder finished eight ahead of Spaniards Jorge Navarro and Jorge Martin.

Frenchman Fabio Quartararo was 11th with Karel Hanika in 12th. Andrea Locatelli, Jules Danilo and Miguel Oliveira rounded out the points. Moto3 championship leader Danny Kent failed to score points as he finished a lap down in 21st. Kent's previous worst finish this season was fourth at Le Mans. The British rider had scored points in 19 consecutive races with last year's race at Barcelona being one of only two occasions he failed to score points in 2014.

Danny Kent's championship lead shrinks to 56 points over Enea Bastianini and 78 points over Romano Fenati. Miguel Oliveira is 87 points back with Efrén Vazquez rounding out the top five, 94 points back after Vazquez retired from today's race.

All three series will be on track next week in Brno, Czech Republic. Last year, Dani Pedrosa ended Marc Márquez's ten-race winning streak as Márquez finished fourth. In Moto2, Tito Rabat won and Aleix Masbou scored his first career victory in Moto3.