Sunday, September 13, 2015

Spencer Pigot Wins Indy Lights Championship

By sweeping the weekend at Laguna Seca, Spencer Pigot has won the 2015 Indy Lights championship. The Californian entered the final race with a seven-point lead over Jack Harvey after he won on Saturday. Pigot got the lead in turn two after he, pole-sitter Max Chilton and Harvey went three-wide. Sean Rayhall jumped to second from sixth with Chilton and Harvey settling in third and fourth respectively.

Scott Anderson suffered a mechanical failure after two laps and brought out a safety car. Under the safety car period, Harvey was penalized for jumping the start and fell to the end of the field. Pigot and Rayhall would run first and second for the entire race as Pigot led all 38 laps on his way to a championship clinching victory. Chilton finished third and picked up fastest lap. Ed Jones came home in fourth after passing Shelby Blackstock on the final lap. Blackstock was able to come home in fifth.

RC Enerson finished sixth with the Belardi Auto Racing drivers Juan Piedrahita and Félix Serrallés finishing seventh and eighth respectively. Harvey finished ninth with Kyle Kaiser rounding out the top ten. Kaiser started third but spun on lap one, causing him to fall to the back of the field. Heamin Choi finished 11th, 38.1584 seconds behind Pigot.

There was a second safety car period during this race. Ethan Ringel had an accident on lap 12. He was able to get out of the car and walk away under his own power.

This was Pigot's sixth victory of the season as he swept three race weekends this season (Barber, Toronto, Laguna Seca). He had ten podiums from 16 races. Pigot makes this back-to-back championship seasons after winning the Pro Mazda title in 2014.

Spencer Pigot is the 2015 Indy Lights champion. For the second consecutive season, Jack Harvey will finish runner-up in the Indy Lights championship. Ed Jones will come home in third with RC Enerson finishing fourth. Max Chilton will round out the top five in the championship. Kyle Kaiser will finish sixth with Félix Serrallés nipping his teammate Juan Piedrahita for seventh. Scott Anderson and Shelby Blackstock will round out the top ten. Ethan Ringel and Sean Rayhall will finish 11th and 12th respectively.

By winning the Indy Lights championship, Pigot has won a $1 million scholarship to compete in at least three 2016 Verizon IndyCar Series races including a chance to attempt to qualify for the 100th Indianapolis 500.

In Pro Mazda, Garett Grist swept the weekend with 2015 champion Santiago Urrutia finishing second. Neil Alberico rounded out the podium. Will Owen finished fourth with Dalton Kellett rounding out the top five. Pato O'Ward finished sixth ahead of Juncos Racing drivers Timothé Buret and Jose Gutierrez. Weiron Tan finished ninth with Kyle Connery rounding out the top ten.

Santiago Urrutia locked up the championship on Saturday but Neil Alberico wrapped up second with Garett Grist jumping up to third in the championship after sweeping the Laguna Seca weekend. Weiron Tan finishes fourth ahead of Timothé Buret. Pato O'Ward finished sixth just ahead of Will Owen. Florian Latorre finished eighth with Jose Gutierrez and Dalton Kellett rounding out the top ten in the 2015 Pro Mazda championship.

In U.S. F2000, 2015 champion Nico Jamin capped off the season by sweeping the Laguna Seca weekend and ending the 2015 season with six consecutive victories. Aaron Telitz finished second to his Cape Motorsports teammate with Jake Eidson in third. Anthony Martin finished fourth ahead of Nikita Lastochkin. Peter Portante finished sixth in his second start of the season. Ayla Årgen finished seventh with Keyvan Andres Soori in eighth. Yufeng Luo and Garth Rickards rounded out the top ten.

Nico Jamin won the U.S. F2000 title by 61 points over Jake Eidson. Aaron Telitz finished third with Anthony Martin and Parker Thompson rounding out the top five. Luke Gabin finished sixth with Yufeng Luo in seventh. Team Pelfrey drivers Nikita Lastochkin, Garth Rickards and Ayla Årgen rounded out the top ten with four points covering the three drivers.