Here is a rundown of what got me thinking...
Rain did not ruin MotoGP's return to Brazil, neither did a poor track surface but it was not the most accommodating conditions at Goiânia. Despite the troubles, Marco Bezzecchi made it two wins on the spin to open 2026 and four consecutive dating back to last season. Marc Márquez got to keep this sprint victory. There was a team orders row in Sebring. There was also a spectacular comeback in GTD, though it was mostly self-inflicted. NASCAR had a phenomenal race from Darlington. Max Verstappen’s team won on the road at the Nürburgring but was disqualified for using one too many sets of tires. Sadly, Grand Prix of Long Beach president and CEO Jim Michaelian passed away, aged 83. With a little less action this weekend, it was a chance for reflection over what we are seeing in every competition.
Are We Too Smart For Our Own Good?
March has kept us all occupied. Through four weekends, each weekend fills a little more lively. With IndyCar and Formula One off, it allowed for more time to think, and my mind drifted over what we have seen over the last few weeks. It is hard to ignore the displeasure.
IndyCar caught a break in the last two races that were fairly active and Álex Palou did not win. After the first race in St. Petersburg, there was plenty of angst over how the season started and the remaining races to come. A stellar Phoenix race and a battle in Arlington has quieted the disgruntled… for now. Formula One has not been as fortunate.
The first two races have started out well, and we have seen active opening stints, so far between Mercedes and Ferrari. Cars have passed at the start. Cars have run closer together. Then the Mercedes pull away. That has been the theme over the first two races. There are portions of close racing at the front, and then the last two-thirds, maybe half the race, is a forgone conclusion. If anything, the battles have remained semi-frequent in the middle of the field and for the other points positions. The DRS trains have been eradicated with the new active aerodynamic pieces.
We have action and at an above average level for Formula One through the first two races, and yet there has been a notable portion of viewers that have been dissatisfied with what we are saying. Drivers are feeling the same way. Max Verstappen is the leading driver who is not enthused with the new regulations. However, Lewis Hamilton might be the biggest proponent saying this is the best racing he has ever had in his career. I am also sure the Mercedes group is pleased.
Are we too smart for our our good? Do we know too much about racing, what is going on, why thinks are happening on track and how the cars are driven, and does that prevent us from having any enjoyment in what we are watching?
Over the last few years, my mind has wondered to what it was like being a motorsports fan in the 1960s or 1970s or even the 1980s. Coverage was not this abundant. You got races on televisions occasionally. Practice sessions were not televised. Qualifying was not televised. There was National Speed Sport News and a few other publications, but there was no way to consume an endless flow of information of motorsports. You got your weekly, or perhaps monthly update. If something was big enough to crack a newspaper, you learned a little more. Fandom was more innocent but also more relaxed. Those fandoms could live on a little because not much more existed.
The closest thing I can imagine what the 1960s or 1970s were like is when I go to a race track as a spectator, and I have no clue what is going on during the race. I like to wander around a course with my camera and take photographs from different vantage points. I am watching. I know who started at the front. I know who is still at the front and who had problems, but I know so little. I can see the gap, but I have no clue the exact time between the two cars. Some areas have a public address system and video boards. You get snippets of the broadcast and you know who is leading and how the cars are running, but you still have to form your own picture of what is happening, and sometimes you aren’t sure why a car lost five positions. You figure pit stops will happen, but you are not sure when everyone last stopped and how long a pit window can actually be.
That was the normal viewing experience for practically the entire 20th century. And people loved it!
Do not mistakes this for a call to return to being a Luddite. We have so much at our disposal, and we should be happy that so much information is available to us. We know what tire compound is being used and whether those tires are worn or not in every IndyCar race and we can follow along to the tire strategy through Firestone’s live timing. That is incredible, but I feel we are missing out and expecting more to love because we believe we know exactly how a race should be. We also believe we know everything that is wrong.
There must have been a time 50 or 60 years ago when people went to the racetrack because they loved motorsports, and races didn't come around that often. Think about how many fewer races there were back then. If IndyCar was coming to town, it was the highlight of the spring or summer. You were going because you loved the engineering and cars pushing the limits. It was your one chance to see it. The same goes for Formula One. People weren't dissecting the racing. In a way, all they wanted to see was fast cars on is racetrack. They weren’t worried about passing and downforce creating dirty air or how tire wear would play a role. In a sense, racing then wasn't racing as you think about it today.
We have created a myth about what happened even if there is actual documentation. Race broadcasts exist. We can see what it was like, and it was nothing like we have today, and I don't mean the past definitively had better races.
The racing of the 1960s didn't have 10,000 passes every race. They were not wide-open affairs that anyone could win. Races were different, but people just wanted to see the cars on the track, fall in awe of the speed and the level the drivers were competing at, and perhaps feel close to something dangerous, thrill-seekers even if they didn’t want to admit it. Pit stops were nearly non-existent. Everyone would use one set of tires, no re-fueling and just go for 100 miles or 200 miles. No one was worried about fuel strategy even if teams back then had a harder limit on fuel they could use during a race. In some cases, teams didn't last long enough for fuel to be a factor.
It is not better nor it is worse. It is just different. Take a race from 1976. People were not showing up expecting a two-stop strategy or maybe a three-stop strategy but an early caution would force cars to save fuel and dictate the strategy. Every car was saving fuel, especially in IndyCar. There was a limit each team had each race, but not everyone was going to make it. A car had to go long enough before that could become a concern.
Pieces broke left-and-right. Some engines were not meant to go further than halfway. Cars were falling out of the race or running conservatively enough just to get the car further in the race that it isn't like today. Every car can make it to the end. Every car knows how many laps they must make on a stint to have the race be done in two stops. Everyone is effectively on the same strategy because what other choice is there and why do something wild and stupid? That is what makes a modern race feel more dull.
Fifty years ago, anyone and everyone could break down and from any position. You never knew if a car had to be nursed home and if that would allow someone to take control of a race. There was not urgency from 25 teams to save fuel from the immediate start of the race. At least ten of the teams likely didn’t expect to make it the distance, and if nearly half the field has no belief it will see the checkered flag that changes the makeup of the race. Every race had its unknowns, and they were arguably greater than today.
What we have today is an evolution, whether we want to admit it or not. Everyone is going to make it to the end. It becomes tougher to get ahead when everyone is running essentially the same strategy. Everyone is trying to hit the same fuel windows. The field doesn't get spread out. Teams are not nursing cars to the finish. It becomes stagnant quickly. Attempts have been made to mix it up, and we just end up hating it.
Hello, alternate tires which may force a team to stop ten laps earlier than for fuel because a car does not have any grip and is losing time. Hello, movable aerodynamic parts to decrease drag and potentially allow a car to have an advantage in traffic. Hello, push-to-pass, energy deployment systems and the like and the push for road relevance in an increasingly electric automobile world.
And we hate it because it is not "pure" but few think about what purity means in this context. If it was what happened 50 or 60 years ago, I think many would hate it more should it be reincarnated in the year 2026.
We think we know what we want or what is good. Good is subjective and constantly changing. That is a problem, especially for series trying to keep up with the expectations of the viewer. How are they to know when we change of minds?
Do we get in our own way?
The first two races of this Formula One season might not be like last year or the first two races of 2006, but the anger and dissatisfaction over it not being what we previously saw, whether it be yesterday or 20 years ago, is a waste of sorts.
This is what it is, and if you focus on what it is and how it is playing out, you can see action and excitement.
It is different. It doesn't feel comfortable from what we know. Energy recovery and speeds slowing at the end of a straightaway is a notable difference, but everyone is working on energy recovery and energy deployment. This is the new strategy. If you are going to discredit all action as artificial because battles and passes are down to when teams are recovery and deploying energy at different times, you are bound to be miserable. Nothing will be good enough, but the racing of 20 years ago is not returning, and even if it was you might not even like that either.
We have constructed our past as perfect but we are likely boosting the best moments and glorifying those as how it always was. It wasn't. There were definitely good times. There might have been more good times back then compared to now, but the amount is unlikely to be substantially greater than what we have today.
As we have completed a quarter of the 21st century, I wonder if we are spoiled and use the 20th century, especially the second half of it too much as a measuring stick for how things should be across all walks of life. Everyone just wants the 90s or 80s or 70s. Everyone wants Lolas and Reynards. Everyone wants V10s. Everyone wants the past. And yet, everyone wants a past where innovation was plentiful and the cars were inspiring. How can you go backward and yet continue to innovate?
Nothing says progress like looking and moving backward.
Every series could give you exactly what the viewer wants. Every series could develop a car that has as many passes as possible and as much speed as possible. We all know the elements of closer racing and the conditions that keep cars together... and even if that was given, there would be a segment of the fanbase that would hate it! You could get exactly as you wish, and then everyone would complain about things being stale (Hello, DW12 chassis!).
Are we smart or are inconsolable to a point of obnoxiousness? Are we the only barrier to our own enjoyment and happiness? Are we too stubborn?
Perhaps, the best decision would be to change our mindset, and have greater openness. Perhaps what will cure most of our saltiness is if we stopped trying to return to something that is long gone and something we don't even accurately recollect anyway, and come to terms with what is in front of us and how it is exciting in its own way.
Winners From the Weekend
You know about Marco Bezzecchi and Marc Márquez, but did you know...
The #7 Porsche Penske Motorsport Porsche of Felipe Nasr, Julien Andlauer and Laurin Heinrich won the 74th 12 Hours of Sebring. The #2 United Autosports Oreca-Gibson of Mikkel Jensen, Hunter McElrea and Phil Fayer won in LMP2. The #911 Manthey Racing Porsche of Klaus Bachler, Ricardo Feller and Thomas Preining won in GTD Pro. The #21 AF Corse Ferrari of Antonio Fuoco, Simon Mann and Lilou Wadoux won in GTD.
Daniel Holgado won the Moto2 race from Brazil. Máximo Quiles won the Moto3 race.
António Félix da Costa won the Madrid ePrix, his second consecutive victory.
Tyler Reddick won the NASCAR Cup race from Darlington, his fourth victory of the season. Justin Allgaier won the Grand National Series race, his second victory of the season. Corey Heim won the Truck race.
Hunter Lawrence won the Supercross race from Birmingham, his third victory of the season. Cole Davies won the 250cc East-West showdown race after Haiden Deegan received a penalty for cutting the course.
Coming Up This Weekend
IndyCar keeps the Birmingham-area busy with its round at Barber Motorsports Park.
Formula One has the Japanese Grand Prix before an unexpected month off.
MotoGP heads north to Austin, Texas.
NASCAR is at Martinsville.
World Superbike will be at Portimão.
GT World Challenge America opens its season at Sonoma.
Supercross will be in Detroit.
