Sunday, April 27, 2014

Morning Warm-Up: Barber 2014

Will Power eyes another Barber victory from pole position.
Will Power starts on pole position for the 2014 Honda Indy Grand Prix of Long Beach. The Australian is looking for his third win at Barber Motorsports Park and Team Penske's fourth in five Barber races. Power won from pole at Barber in 2011. James Hinchcliffe starts second for the second consecutive race. This is his second career front row start at Barber. Ryan Hunter-Reay starts third after starting on pole at Long Beach two weeks ago. He is looking for back-to-back victories at Barber. Josef Newgarden starts fourth for the second consecutive race.

Scott Dixon starts fifth. He has started in the top five for every Barber race and has finished runner-up in every Barber race. Helio Castroneves starts sixth. He won at Barber in 2010. Carlos Muñoz starts seventh and Juan Pablo Montoya joins him on row four. Marco Andretti starts ninth. This is his fourth top ten starts at Barber. Simon Pagenaud rounds out the top ten. His best Barber finish was fifth in 2012.

Mikhail Aleshin starts a career-best eleventh in his third career start. His is joined by Sébastien Bourdais on row six. Bourdais' KV teammate Sebastián Saavedra starts thirteenth and Takuma Sato joins him on row seven. Another rookie who will be setting his career-best start is Carlos Huertas in fifteenth. Justin Wilson makes it an all-Dale Coyne Racing row eight in sixteenth. Charlie Kimball starts seventeenth with Graham Rahal in eighteenth. 

This will be Rahal's 98th start since is first career victory at St. Petersburg. Starting this weekend, the next race Rahal wins will break Johnny Rutherford's 41-year old record for most starts between victories. Rutherford made 97 starts between wins at Atlanta in 1965 and Ontario in 1973. His Rahal Letterman Lanigan Racing teammate Oriol Servià starts nineteen and made his 98th start since his last victory at Long Beach two weeks ago. 

Ryan Briscoe rounds out the top twenty. Long Beach winner Mike Conway starts twenty-first with fellow Brit Jack Hawksworth joining him on row eleven. Tony Kanaan rounds out the field in twenty-third. Kanaan started twenty-fourth at Barber in 2011 and came home in sixth. 

The furthest a winner has come from on the starting grid is ninth. That was Will Power in 2012. This week's race will feature a rolling start. 

NBCSN's coverage from Barber Motorsports Park begins at 2:30 p.m. ET with green flag at 3:12 p.m. ET.