Saturday, May 3, 2014

Qualifying Results From MotoGP, DTM, WTCC and Super GT

Marc Márquez maintained his pole perfection in 2014 as he ran the fastest lap at Jerez in preparation for the Spanish Grand Prix. This is Márquez's fifth consecutive pole position dating back to last season's finale at Valencia. The Spaniard is coming off his third consecutive victory of 2014 last week at Argentina. Jorge Lorenzo was 0.421 seconds back in second while defending Spanish Grand Prix winner Dani Pedrosa starts third.

Valentino Rossi starts fourth with the "Open" bike of Aleix Espargaró in fifth. Ducati's Andrea Dovizioso starts sixth. Stefan Bradl qualified seventh with the Tech3 Yamahas of Pol Espargaró and Bradley Smith rounding out row three. Álvaro Bautista will start tenth with Americans Colin Edwards and Nicky Hayden rounding out the fourth row.

Coverage for tomorrow's Spanish Grand Prix begins at 7:00 a.m. ET on Fox Sports 1.

Adrien Tambay will begin the 2014 Deutsche Tourenwagen Masters season on pole position, the first in the Frenchman's DTM career. He will be joined by sophomore Marco Wittmann on row one. Bruno Spengler starts third with rookie António Félix da Costa starting fourth. Mattias Ekström and Miguel Molina make it an all-Audi row three with Audi's Edoardo Mortara in seventh. Martin Tomczyk starts eighth with Timo Glock and Timo Scheider rounding out the top ten.

The top two in the 2013 championship start eleventh in twelfth with defending champion Mike Rockenfeller ahead of defending runner-up Augusto Farfus. Rookies Nico Müller and Maxime Martin make up row seven. Gary Paffett is the top Mercedes-Benz driver in fifteenth position. Pascal Wehrlein is sixteenth. Joey Hand is the lowest BMW in seventeenth and Jamie Green is the lowest Audi in eighteenth.

Mercedes took the bottom five positions with Paul di Resta leading the way in nineteenth as he returns to DTM after three years in Formula One. Daniel Juncandella starts twentieth with Robert Wickens in twenty-first. Christian Vietoris was the top Mercedes driver in 2013 and starts twenty-second in the 2014 season opener with Vitaly Petrov starting twenty-first for his DTM debut.

The 2014 DTM season opener will take place at 7:33 a.m. ET.

Yvan Muller won pole position for the first race of the World Touring Car Championship at the Hungaroring. He leads a Citroën 1-2-3 with teammates José Mariá López second and Sébastien Loeb third. Honda drivers Tiago Monterrio and Gabriele Tarquini rounded out the top five.

Race one from Hungary takes place at 7:30 a.m. ET with race two at 8:40 a.m. ET.

At the second round of the 2014 Super GT season at Fuji Speedway, Hironobu Yasuda and João Paulo de Oliveira starts in pole in the GT500 class. In the GT300 class Kazuki Hoshino and Lucas Ordóñez are on pole. The race will take place at 12:30 a.m. ET.