Friday, July 12, 2013

Franchitti on Pole For Saturday

Two four-time champions with thirty-one career wins will start on row one Saturday. Dario Franchitti took pole position with Sébastien Bourdais starting second. Franchitti put down a lap of 59.6756 seconds to beat out Bourdais 59.7701.

On row two will be Will Power and Tony Kanaan. Power has not won since São Paulo last year. James Jakes and Pocono winner Scott Dixon will start on row three. Ryan Hunter-Reay just missed out on the Firestone Fast Six and will start seventh. He won at Toronto from sixth position last year. Next to him will be the man he trails in the championship standings, Helio Castroneves. 2005 Toronto winner Justin Wilson and Ryan Briscoe round out the top ten with Marco Andretti and Takuma Sato rounding out the Fast Twelve.

Simon Pagenaud and hometown favorite James Hinchcliffe just missed out on the Fast Twelve and make up row seven. EJ Viso starts fifteenth next to Charlie Kimball who scored his first career podium at Toronto last year. Canadian Alex Tagliani will start seventeenth ahead of Graham Rahal. Josef Newgarden and Mike Conway make up row ten. Rookie Tristan Vautier and Simona de Silvestro make up row eleven with Ed Carpenter and Sebastián Saavedra rounding out the field.

Qualifying for race two will take place tomorrow morning at 10:35 a.m. ET. NBCSN's coverage of race one from Toronto will begin at 3:00 p.m. ET with green flag around 3:40 p.m.