Saturday, July 13, 2013

Ganassi Sweeps Poles, Race Two Front Row at Toronto

Second day, second pole for Chip Ganassi Racing as Scott Dixon won his first pole of the 2013 season for race two at Toronto. The Kiwi put down a lap of 58.9686 seconds to top his teammate Dario Franchitti's 59.1905, the fastest time from group one. This is Dixon's first pole since Belle Isle last year, a race he led flag-to-flag though shortened due to a lengthly delay.

Row two features the top two in the championship standings. Helio Castroneves starts third ahead of Ryan Hunter-Reay who trails the Brazilian by twenty-three points entering the weekend at Toronto. Will Power and Tony Kanaan start third and fourth in race one at Toronto. They will start fifth and sixth respectively in race two. Sébastien Boudais and Ryan Briscoe will make up row four with the Canadian Alex Tagliani and Simona de Silvestro rounding out the top ten.

EJ Viso and hometown favorite James Hinchcliffe makes it an all-Andretti Autosport row six ahead of an all-British row seven of James Jakes and Justin Wilson. Two Hondas make up row eight, Simon Pagenaud and runner-up last week Charlie Kimball. Takuma Sato and Marco Andretti start on row six today and they will both start on row nine Sunday with Sato seventeenth and Andretti eighteenth. Tristan Vautier starts nineteenth with Graham Rahal in twentieth. Josef Newgarden and Sebastián Saavedra start on row ten with Ed Carpenter and Belle Isle race one winner Mike Conway rounding out the field.

NBCSN's coverage of race one begins today at 3:00 p.m. ET with green flag at 3:40 p.m. Coverage of race two Sunday begins at 3:00 p.m. with green flag at 3:40 p.m.