Friday, August 23, 2013

Dixon Fastest in Second Practice

Target Chip Ganassi Racing driver Scott Dixon was fastest in second practice with a time of 1:18.3145 seconds. Dixon was over three tenths faster than his championship rival Helio Castroneves who leads Dixon by thirty-one points in the championship standings. Will Power was third quick just 0.03612 seconds ahead of Ryan Hunter-Reay. Justin Wilson was fifth just over a half second behind Dixon.

Graham Rahal was sixth fastest less than a tenth ahead of fellow Honda drivers Dario Franchitti and Simon Pagenaud. EJ Viso was ninth with Ryan Briscoe rounding out the top ten. Less than a tenth of a second covered eleventh through sixteenth. James Hinchcliffe was eleventh just a little over a second back of Dixon but only 0.0030 ahead of Tristan Vautier in twelfth. Charlie Kimball was thirteenth with Takuma Sato just 0.0031 seconds back of him. JR Hildebrand was fifteenth with Sébastien Saavedra in sixteenth, only 0.0965 seconds back of Hinchcliffe.

James Jakes was seventeenth with Sébastien Bourdais eighteenth only 0.0071 seconds back. Bourdais led a string of five consecutive Chevrolets. Tony Kanaan was nineteenth with Marco Andretti down in twentieth. Ed Carpenter was twenty-first ahead of Simona de Silvestro twenty-second. James Davison was twenty-third with Josef Newgarden just 0.0146 second back of him and 1.5470 seconds back of Dixon. Newgarden's teammate this weekend Lucas Luhr was twenty-fifth, 0.7844 seconds off of Newgarden.

IndyCar will have a practice session tomorrow at 2:00 p.m. ET with qualifying taking place at 5:30 p.m. ET. Qualifying will air later Saturday night at 9:00 p.m. ET on NBCSN.