Friday, August 30, 2013

Power Fastest in Baltimore First Practice

Penske Racing driver Will Power starts Baltimore right where he left Sonoma at the top of the scoring pylon. Power put down the fastest time of the first session with a lap of 1.20.8632 seconds, 0.2624 seconds ahead of EJ Viso. Oriol Servià was third fastest making it a clean sweep of the top three for Chevrolet. Honda took the next five spots on the time sheet. Graham Rahal laid down a flyer late in the session and was only 0.0157 back of Servià. Scott Dixon was on top for a fair share of the session but ultimately wound up fifth, 0.4615 back of Power and 0.0113 back of Rahal. Josef Newgarden was sixth with the Schmidt Peterson Hamilton Racing drivers of Simon Pagenaud and Tristan Vautier seventh and eighth. Marco Andretti and Sébastien Bourdais rounded out the top ten.

Rahal Letterman Lanigan driver James Jakes was eleventh ahead of IndyCar championship leader Helio Castroneves. Defending champion and defending Baltimore race winner Ryan Hunter-Reay was thirteenth only 0.0046 back of Castroneves. Second place from Sonoma, Justin Wilson was fourteenth quickest ahead of race winners in 2013 Takuma Sato, Charlie Kimball and James Hinchcliffe. Sebastián Saavedra was eighteenth ahead of the KV Racing Technology drivers Tony Kanaan and Simona de Silvestro. Lucas Filippi was twenty-first to start his second race weekend of the 2013 season. He was ahead of Dario Franchitti, Ed Carpenter and Stefan Wilson who completed his first IndyCar practice session 4.4165 seconds off Power.

The top fifteen drivers were covered by less than a second with the top twenty covered by less than a second and a half. Six drivers ran a single digit amount of laps in the first session. Those drivers are Power, Dixon, Andretti, Hunter-Reay, Hinchcliffe and Franchitti. The most laps run in the session were nineteen by Stefan Wilson.

Indy Lights will hit the track for their first practice session of the weekend at 1:25 p.m. ET with IndyCar second practice at 2:30 p.m. ET.